You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
Unstable - Bulk editing on a main folder level - It's possible to replace and remove preexisting categories #4748
This is a follow-up to #4737 - if I have a folder with multiple resources and folders and I select one of the available bulk editing options such as 'Edit categories', 'Edit levels' and 'Edit requirements' then I am able to actually remove or replace all of the existing categories. This is different from the bulk editing implementation when I have selected several resources in which case I see the text: You selected resources that have different categories. The categories you choose below will be added to all selected resources. This will not remove existing categories.
Expected behavior
This could be the desired behavior. To be further discussed.
Hmm in my opinion I think the problem would be because the message "Apply to all resources, folders and subfolders contained within the selected folders" could be confused between "set these categories and remove the rest of them" and "add these categories", what does "apply" mean?
I was thinking about what would happen if the behavior was modified and instead of setting and removing all the other categories, they were always added, regardless of whether or not there are mixed categories in the descendants. But I think that in that case a mistake by a user who mistakenly added an extra category and then wants to remove it would be somewhat tedious. Although perhaps less tedious than finding that the categories they already had in the descendants were removed? I think that in both cases an undo action is quite important in these bulk editions. Or at least a warning of "are you sure you want to..." before saving.
Activity
pcenov commentedon Sep 20, 2024
@radinamatic
AlexVelezLl commentedon Sep 20, 2024
Hmm in my opinion I think the problem would be because the message "Apply to all resources, folders and subfolders contained within the selected folders" could be confused between "set these categories and remove the rest of them" and "add these categories", what does "apply" mean?
I was thinking about what would happen if the behavior was modified and instead of setting and removing all the other categories, they were always added, regardless of whether or not there are mixed categories in the descendants. But I think that in that case a mistake by a user who mistakenly added an extra category and then wants to remove it would be somewhat tedious. Although perhaps less tedious than finding that the categories they already had in the descendants were removed? I think that in both cases an
undoaction is quite important in these bulk editions. Or at least a warning of "are you sure you want to..." before saving.