You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
{{ message }}
Repository navigation
Skipped by default configuration stage may be not so useful #2138
By default BuildStream omits configuration steps on subsequent builds for optimization purposes (https://docs.buildstream.build/master/developing/workspaces.html#incremental-builds). There is a command to overcome that, but actually this optimization does not seem useful at least at the initial stages of development, e.g. when adding new elements and changing configuration frequently. For instance, I often spend much more time to understand problems and to run necessary missed configuration steps, then I get from this optimization.
It would be great to have an ability to disable this optimization either globally or for the build command. Probably, it has sense to disable it by default and to enable it, say, via an extra command-line argument.
I have some troubles with this too - sometimes I spend too much time debugging failing builds until i remember that I need to run workspace reset --soft to allow configure-commands step to run.
It would be great to have an ability to disable this optimization either globally or for the build command. Probably, it has sense to disable it by default and to enable it, say, via an extra command-line argument.
I don't think it would be possible to disable it by default, as it would be backwards-incompatible change. Maybe it could be opt-in, like via a parameter in ~/.config/buildstream.conf?
Activity
kotborealis commentedon Jun 26, 2026
I have some troubles with this too - sometimes I spend too much time debugging failing builds until i remember that I need to run
workspace reset --softto allowconfigure-commandsstep to run.I don't think it would be possible to disable it by default, as it would be backwards-incompatible change. Maybe it could be opt-in, like via a parameter in
~/.config/buildstream.conf?This way, users could disable this behaviour for their machine if they wish to.