Skip to content

editable: false deletes the whole content if collaboration is enabled #511

Description

@sradu

If I start writing a page which is saved via collaboration, and then I open the same page with editable: false blocknote deletes the whole content. Reproduced via this nextjs component with the latest version:

"use client";
import { BlockNoteEditor } from "@blocknote/core";
import { BlockNoteView, useBlockNote } from "@blocknote/react";
import "@blocknote/react/style.css";

import * as Y from 'yjs'

import { HocuspocusProvider } from '@hocuspocus/provider'

export default function Editor() {
  const ydoc = new Y.Doc()

  const provider = new HocuspocusProvider({
    url: "ws://localhost:1234",
    name: 'page~~c758cb5d-e8ab-425a-a79d-276711e9b572',
    document: ydoc
  })

  const editor = useBlockNote({
    editable: false, // If editable is false it deletes existing content
    collaboration: {
      provider,
      fragment: ydoc.getXmlFragment('document-store'),
      user: {
        name: 'My Username',
        color: '#ff0000'
      }
    },
  });

  return <BlockNoteView editor={editor} />;
}

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions